top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura M. Menelle

Second-hand clothes.


Two years ago, I was in New York enjoying its uniqueness. One day, I was walking down the street (actually it was the 86th!) and I ran into this man who was selling second hand clothes. There was a clothes rail full of coats, hung up beautifully.

That caught my attention. Since it was a cold evening, it was quite surprising to see something like that in the street. Anyway, I asked if he had a XS or S sized coat and he showed me a red one, in fact, the one I’m wearing in those pics.

I usually pick neutral colors, mostly if they’re outerwear.

But this one was beautiful, bright and I could tell it was great quality. What about the price? I paid only 15 dollars for it. It was a steal!

I still have it and I wear it when it's super cold, and I really feel that the cost is hugging me.


So, going back to fashion industry, here's a fact:


Producing a single pair of jeans emits as much greenhouse gas as driving a car for over 80 miles. A single cotton shirt takes 2,700 liters of water to produce, equivalent to the average person’s drinking needs for two and a half years.

This Mother-daughter Tooshaaya brand uses all-natural textiles and hand looming to counter the environmental hazards of the fashion industry. You go girls!


I challenge you to look for a good thrift shop and maybe, get something you like. There's nothing wrong on that. Second hand doesn't mean poor quality, or finding only worn out clothes.

Give it a try!


Love,


The Daily Lau

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page