top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura M. Menelle

Circadian rhythm: our own clock.⏳


Far more than your alarm clock, what governs your wake-sleep cycle is the internal circadian clock regulating your whole body. This biological timekeeper also affects hunger, thirst, body temperature, mood, hormone fluctuations and more.

Disturbances to the circadian rhythm, or to the genes that produce the rhythm, can cause problems from low productivity and insomnia to depression and diabetes. Some of the most common disturbances are night-shift work, artificial light and travel across time zones.


During lockdown, our circadian rhythms have been probably altered since our routines have significantly changed.

I found extremely important the fact of respecting our sleep cycle, the way we eat (mindfully!), the way we move and exercise. Our body speaks our mind and that is the reason why many people suffer from anxiety (I do!) or other affections.

Understanding our body and our biological clock may lead to a better quality of life. For example, meditation has been a life changer. I don’t suffer anxiety as I used to.

I don’t skip meals or eat at crazy times. I listen to my body.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page